Ghost Whisperer Spoilers & More Reactions to Jim’s Death on Ghost Whisperer

READ MORE SPOILERS FROM NEXT WEEK’S EPISODE THRESHOLD

Reactions to Ghost Whisperer’s big twist

by Isabelle Carreau, TV Squad

Ghost WhispererThere you have it people, Ghost Whisperer’s big twist was revealed in this week’s episode titled “Imaginary Friends & Enemies.” If you’ve been keeping up with spoilers about the show, you knew about this event since the end of August. When the info was released, fans strongly reacted to it which prompted the brains behind the show to address the upcoming death in interviews posted on the web. No matter what the creators said about the storyline being really interesting and opening new possibilities for the show, some fans were in denial and actually thought the creators would not go ahead with their plan. Sadly for them, the creators did not tweak their plan.

Now that the big death occurred, what do fans think about the twist?

My opinion about Jim’s death in this week’s episode hasn’t changed since I wrote my “Why I now embrace Ghost Whisperer and look forward to that big twist” post. I believe that his death could open up a lot of possibilities for the show if they have Jim not cross over. Due to Melinda’s reaction to his death, it wouldn’t surprise me that he sticks around until she accepts it. Thanks to Jim remaining a ghost, we could learn more about the ghost world from how does the world look like from a ghost point of view to how the dark side tries to recruit them. To fans who believe that this is the end of Jim and Melinda as a couple, should I remind you that this is a sci fi/fantasy show and that everything and anything can happen including The Powers That Be agreeing to resurrect Jim so that Melinda can properly continue her job?

What do other fans of the show think of the twist? Here are a few comments posted on the CBS’s Ghost Whisperer forums:

  • Without Jim there to support Melinda, the show will just be too heart-wrenching. I loved that show, but they’ve just lost me now. I’ll be back only if Jim’s somehow alive.
  • They killed the only part of Melinda that made her feel normal. What does she have left now. There’s no one left to talk things through with or to keep her grounded when things got crazy.
  • I don’t think it was a good thing. I hope this is just a dream. It would not work for him to be a ghost because Melinda would not be able to move on with her life.
Out of the 100+ comments I read on CBS’s forums, I haven’t read one that was supportive of Jim’s death. Of course, most of these posts were made immediately after the episode aired so people didn’t have time to sit back and look at the change under a different light. I’m not happy that a character had to die, especially Jim, but, if done right by the writers, Jim’s death can bring a breath of fresh air to the show. In interview with TV Guide, David Conrad says he’s enjoying his character’s fate as it allows him to do things he never did before on a TV series. If in the end Jim stays dead, I won’t be a happy GW fan and will probably need to vent like people did on CBS’s forum. Until then, I’m willing to enjoy the ride and see what the writers have in store.

What do you think of the Ghost Whisperer twist? Do you think the show jumped the shark or not? What did you think of the final scene in which Ghost Jim tells Melinda that he died? Let your voice be heard in our poll and in comments below.

Related Posts:

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. j71

     /  November 9, 2008

    Awful. I won’t watch since it completely eliminates the reason why I loved the show.

  2. Patricia

     /  November 11, 2008

    I seen it coming, I wasn’t happy about the possibity of Jim being killed off the show. I will continue to watch just to see if they keep Jim’s ghost around. If they completely get rid of Jim, I will stop watching.

    Jim was Melinda’s rock, he kept her grounded. When the day was done and after she had helped someone cross over, he was there to support her, without Jim who will support Melinda? Even if Jim is kept on as a ghost support is phyical not only mental. Love is what makes this show great and CBS might have destoried that….

  3. peggy

     /  November 12, 2008

    i will not watch it again i think that was the most stupid thing i ever hard of now she will find out she is pg and no husband bah humbug dumb lost me for sure

  4. peggy

     /  November 12, 2008

    why would they think that this would up the ratings? they need to make her dream or something and bring him back fast or the show is lost for good

  5. Lynn

     /  November 12, 2008

    I think this was a cheap and distressing way to get ratings and more access to the almighty buck. I can not say how disappointed I am. I don’t even want to see whether he stays around or not. This stunt has gone over the top of avarice and sensationalism. I’m done with this show.

  6. Judy Hominick

     /  November 13, 2008

    Previously, someone told Melinda that since she deals in both worlds, she sometimes brings some part of the dead with her and that it was a danger to those she is around. Melinda has always been seen as someone doing great things for people – both dead and alive. Looking back, though, Andrea was killed; her unborn baby died and now Jim. Now, it is like she is being punished for trying to help people. I feel this was a bad decision and I will not watch if Jim is truly dead.

  7. Tina Granger

     /  November 13, 2008

    I was just getting into the show this season and what really drew me to this was the love, respect, commitment and support that Jim and Melinda have in their relationship. I get attached to some real good “couple” characters on a show and of course the networks have to go and mess it up.

    I hate to say it but without Jim, I will not be able to continue to watch the show.. even if Melinda is pregnant with their child.. which is most likely where this is going.. he will tell her in the next episode or two, which will then ease her mind and he will be able to move on…. if the networks think that is a surprise, not soo.. really is kinda predictable..

    I am hoping that she is having some sort of wierd dream and in the next few episodes wakes up and then to add a twist, decides not to talk with the spirits for fear of losing her beloved husband…

    I am begging the networks please do not kill off JIM.. if anything let him too be able to have more feel of the spirit world, just not as a spirit…. I wont be watching until i am for sure he is back to stay.. if not.. so long Ghost Whisper….

  8. Laura

     /  November 14, 2008

    I don’t even want to watch the show anymore knowing hes dead it was stupid

  9. julie

     /  November 14, 2008

    I HATE THAT YOU KILLED JIM. I WANT JIM ALIVE AND BACK WITH MELINDA. WHY WOULD YOU DO THIS??? I WATCHED THIS SHOW SINCE THE BEGINNING, BUT NOW I DON’T WANT TO WATCH IT ANYMORE, IT’S TOO DEPRESSING.

    THEIR RELATIONSHIP WAS SO GREAT. WHY WOULD YOU MESS WITH THAT?? I WISH AND HOPE THAT HE’S IN A COMA AND IS DREAMING ALL OF THIS. PLEASE, LET THIS BE THE WAY IT WILL BE WRITTEN. PLEASE.

  10. I am very disappointed. The show before Jim had a little more to do in the show and he actually was around when Melinda was talking to the ghosts on the cruise liner. He was getting into it. I didn’t like the fact that when Jim died he took over someone else’s body. It’s not the same. If Jim lives through this guys body and am gone also. Jim and Melinda have that special kind of love. I don’t see how it’s going to work through someone else’s body? It won’t work. It has to be a dream of Jim’s or Melinda fell asleep in the hospital or something, but not JIm in someone else’s body. Can’t do it. I don’t like this Kennedy guy either, but I can overlook him.

  11. This was a show I could watch and feel “safe” watching. I could count on it being entertaining and intriguing. I knew I could enjoy the ride, each Friday, and trust that all would be well in the end. Now this? Aren’t there enough depressing shows on television? I didn’t need this. The way things are going in the world these days and somebody thought it would be great to kill off a much beloved character like Jim? WTFever.

  12. Michael Glickman

     /  October 11, 2009

    Indeed, if I was Nancy Tellem (president of CBS Network Television Entertainment Group), I would have rectified the situation by sacking and blacklisting P.K. Simonds (showrunner) and Vivian Lee (writer of the “Jim’s death” episode) and then hiring new showrunners who would have the writers write an “It was all a dream” episode.

Leave a Reply

